Various Broadcasting Services In Nigeria

The National Broadcasting Commission of Nigeria (NBC) listed three tiers of broadcasting services in Nigeria, namely:
Public Broadcasting
Commercial Broadcasting; and Community Broadcasting

Types of Broadcasting Service In Nigeria
Radio services could be National, regional or local depending on the approved area of coverage. The Commission licenses several types of broadcasting services as detailed below:

1. Terrestrial Radio
a. Short Wave (SW) Radio
b. Amplitude Modulation (AM) Radio
c. Frequency Modulation (FM) Radio
d. Digital Radio Mondial (DRM)
e. Digital Audio Broadcasting – DAB/HD
2. Terrestrial Television
a. Very High Frequency (VHF)
b. Ultra High Frequency (UHF)
c. Microwave Multipoint Distribution System (MMDS) (Pay/Subscription TV)
d. Digital Video Broadcasting – Terrestrial (DVB – T)
e. Digital Video Broadcasting – Handheld (DVB – H)
3. Satellite Radio
a. Free-to-air
b. Subscription Radio
c. Temporary Uplink
4. Satellite Television
a. Free-to-air
b. Subscription TV (Direct-To-Home – DTH)
c. Temporary uplink
d. DVB- S (Sound)
e. DVB –C (Cable)
5. Community (Local/ Free-to-air)
a. Community Radio
b. Community Television
c. Campus radio (Educational/Training Radio)
d. Campus Television (Educational/Training Television)
e. Community Wired Service (Sound and Video)
Please Note:
Section 2 of the NBC Act no. 38 states that:
No person shall operate or use any apparatus or premises for the transmission of sound or vision by cable, television, radio, satellite or any other medium of broadcast from anywhere in Nigeria except under and in accordance with the provisions of this act.
Read how to obtain a Radio and Television license in Nigeria

See List Of Top Radio Stations in Nigeria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *