$100,000 Africa Food Prize 2021 for Innovation in African Agriculture – Apply Here

$100,000 Africa Food Prize 2021 for Innovation in African Agriculture is now available, interested applicants should get details and apply below.

The Africa Food Prize is the preeminent award recognizing an outstanding individual or institution that is leading the effort to change the reality of farming in Africa—from a struggle to survive to a business that thrives.

The US $100,000 prize celebrates Africans who are taking control of Africa’s agriculture agenda. It puts a spotlight on bold initiatives and technical innovations that can be replicated across the continent to create a new era of food security and economic opportunity for all Africans.

The Africa Food Prize began as the Yara Prize, and was established in 2005 by Yara International ASA in Norway to honor achievements in African agriculture. Moving the Yara Prize to Africa in 2016 and rechristening it the Africa Food Prize gave the award a distinctive African home, African identity and African ownership.

The Prize has brought much-deserved recognition to 18 recipients from Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe whose
outstanding achievements point the way forward to a more vibrant farming sector for the entire continent by making African farms more productive, profitable and resilient.


The Africa Food Prize can be awarded to any individual or identifiable group of individuals, as well as to established institutions, associations, organizations or government bodies with a formal and
recognized judicial and organizational structure contributing to the overall objectives of the Prize.
The Prize can be awarded to any qualified candidate, irrespective of nationality, profession or location, whose work, and contributions deriving from the work, has had a clear impact on the African situation, nationally, regionally or for the continent.
The Prize can be awarded with reference to a specific contribution or achievement, or a series of efforts and results in the recent past, preferably within the last few years.
Current or recent members of the Africa Food Prize Committee, or an institution/ organization headed by such a member, are ineligible for the Prize. The Prize cannot be awarded to a person already deceased, but will be presented in the event a Prize winner dies before receiving the Prize.

The Prize can be awarded to more than one winner, but not more than two. If shared, each winner will receive equal prize money (USD 100, 000 divided in two), a diploma and a trophy.
Selection Procedure

The nomination process for the Africa Food Prize 2021 starts with nominations being sent to the Africa Food Prize Secretariat by, May 25th

Nominations must contain the information requested in the Nomination Guide.
The Africa Food Prize Secretariat then assists the Africa Food Prize Committee to screen and select candidates.
The Africa Food Prize Committee chooses the prize winner(s) by unanimous vote. The Committee has
absolute authority and its decisions cannot be overruled or appealed.

How To Apply

Apply Here

Application Deadline: May 25th, 2021.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.